Month: July 2022

Antigua Public Utilities Authority (APUA)

July 4th, 1973- The Antigua Public Utilities (APUA) was officially formed when the Electricity, Water and Telephone Departments were merged under the Public Utility Act.  Prior to the merger, the Electricity Department functioned on lower St. Mary’s Street while the Water Department was attached to the Public Works Department, and the Telephone Department was located …

Antigua Public Utilities Authority (APUA) Read More »


July 4th, 1973 – CARICOM (Caricom) , also known as the Caribbean Community, was officially agreed upon through the signing of the Treaty of Chaguaramas by Prime Ministers Eric Williams of Trinidad and Tobago, Norman Manley of Jamaica, Errol Barrow of Barbados and Forbes Burnham of Guyana.   It is important to note that at …